More than 1,700 graduated May 7 at MU

Staff Report

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. — More than 1,700 students graduated from Marshall University Saturday, May 7.

For the fifth consecutive year, Marshall conducted two commencement ceremonies on the same day. The 9 a.m. ceremony was for bachelor’s and associate degree candidates, and a 2 p.m. ceremony the same day was for master’s and doctoral degree candidates.

Among the 1,703 students receiving degrees were 1,032 undergraduates, 500 graduate students, 75 from the School of Pharmacy, 60 students from the School of Medicine, and 36 from the School of Physical Therapy.

Marshall registrar Roberta Ferguson said 471 undergraduate students graduated with honors. Ninety-three graduated summa cum laude (3.85 to 4.0 GPA), 153 magna cum laude (3.6 to 3.84 GPA) and 223 cum laude (3.3 to 3.59 GPA). Two students receiving associate degrees graduated with honors.

Marshall President Jerome Gilbert presided at both ceremonies.

Menis E. Ketchum II, West Virginia Supreme Court Chief Justice, was guest speaker during the morning ceremony. Ketchum is a native of Wayne County, having graduated from Vinson High School in 1960, then from Ohio University and next from law school at West Virginia University.

Area students graduating were:

• Boone — Lisa Ann Lowe of Ashford; Kelli Ilene Hudnall of Bim; Tori Jane May of Comfort; Brooke Morgan Bell, Eric V. Gartin, Candess Rae Hatfield, Amber He, Krista G. Hill, all of Danville; Kirsten Marie Harless of Foster; Allison Paige Ferrell, Jordon Scott Nunnery, and Tyler Reed Spurlock, all of Madison; Ruby Louise Smith and Vincent Neil Smith, both of Morrisvale; Christina Dawn Keith of Seth; Rachel Denise Smith of Van; Mark Thomas Castle of Wharton, and Claudia Lynn Acord of Whitesville.

• Logan — Jessica Paige Gambill of Accoville; Jonathan Edward Twardy of Amherstdale; Debra Ann Adkins, Victoria Brooke Bates, Lonnie Lee Berry, Halie Jo Eldridge, Andrea Kelli Elkins, Justin Scott Fleming, Ashley Dawn Ledson, Lonnie Kent Lucas, Katherine Grace Murray, Joshua L. Rakes, Haley Denise Slate, Alyx Chae Stover, Kaitlyn Elizabeth Stowers, Emily Kristin Stroud, Jenna Lynn Turner all of Chapmanville; Courtney Grimmett Adkins of Davin; Jordan Litha O’Rourke and Shaun D. Wagner, both of Holden; Taylor Jayne Ellis, Leslie Thomas Goldie, Kristin Dawn Neal, Lara Kate Sedlock, Nigel Lee Wallace, all of LOGAN; Stephanie Nicole Meadows and Cory Allen Spence, both of Mallory; Sarah Morgan Wolfe of Man; Tara Lee Conn, Taylor Nicole Norman, and Tyler C. Norman, all of Stollings; Caleb Travis Bridges and Criste Anna Chapman, both of Whitman, and Christopher Shawn Burgess of Wilkinson

• Mingo — Barbara Taylor Fields, Kyrstyn Chapman Noe, and Deanna Kaye Powers, all of Delbarton; Ashley Nicole Ferguson and Donald Wade McCoy, both of Dingess; Nikki Danielle Browning of Gilbert; Wayman Cheung, Amanda Florence Copley, Felicia Annette Messer, Lindsay Chanelle Weddington, all of Kermit; Ricky Ferris of Lenore; Deanna Rose Davis and Kristy Lynn Noe, both of Red Jacket; Travis Ray Ward of Varney, and Erin Paige Craddock, Brittany Michelle Elkins, Megan Danielle Hackney, Sarah Elizabeth Logan, Louie Edward Olive, Marcia Lynne Price, and Amanda L. Ramella, all of Williamson.

• Wyoming — Britanie Nicole Morgan of Clear Fork; Kayla Marie Adkins and Michael Joseph Harless, both of Cyclone; Kevin Dewayne Hall of Jesse, and Tamera Sue Gallion, Sherry Annette Morgan, Nicholas R. Pineda and Joshua Caleb Stafford, all of Oceana.

Staff Report


4:58 pm
Updated: 8:14 pm. |    
State, local governments face budget woes
5:45 pm
Updated: 5:58 pm. |    
Logan Cleanup in full swing
comments powered by Disqus