The Henlawson Fire Department has issued a reminder to the citizens of Logan County that the West Virginia Division of Forestry burn ban is now in effect until December 31st.
The release states: “The weather has been delightful to get those projects completed before winter we wish to just remind you that burning during this time of year must adhere to the laws and violation of these laws could cost you up to $1,000.”
The 5 p.m. Burning Law in brief:
October 1—December 31
• No burning from 7 a.m. Until 5 p.m.
• Fire must be attended at all times
• Area must be cleared down to mineral soil for a minimum distance of 10 feet around what is being burned
• If your fire escapes, you are liable for the costs of fighting the fire and any damage the fire may cause to others
Willfully setting fires is a felony and punishable by fine and/or imprisonment. (West Virginia Arson Hotline 1-800-233-FIRE). Maximum fine: $1,000 for violating the Burning Law
If you have any questions about these laws, call your local fire department.