Primary Ballot will offer a selection of candidates

Martha Sparks -

LOGAN, W.Va. — The ballot in Logan County for the Primary Election set for Tuesday, May 10, will have a selection of candidates from which to choose. As of press time Tuesday, on the National Ballot, there are 17 candidates for President of the United States, and locally, there 13 candidates for the Logan County Board of Education.

The listing of candidates includes:

U.S. President

Jeb Bush – Republican

Ben Carson – Republican

Chris Christie – Republican

Hillary Clinton – Democrat

Ted Cruz – Republican

Roque Rocky De La Fuente – Democrat

Paul T. Farrell, Jr. – Democrat

Carly Fiorina – Republican

David E. Hall – Republican

Mike Huckabee – Republican

Keith Judd – Democrat

John R. Kasich – Republican

Martin J. O’Malley – Democrat

Rand Paul – Republican

Marco Rubio – Republican

Bernie Sanders – Democrat

Donald Trump – Republican

U.S. House of Representatives

District/Circuit 3

Matt Detch – Democrat

Evan Jenkins – Republican


Bill Cole – Republican

Booth Goodwin – Democrat

Jim Justice – Democrat

Jeff Kessler – Democrat

Secretary of State

Barry Holstein – Republican

Natalie Tennant – Democrat

Patsy Trecost – Democrat

Mac Warner – Republican


Mary Ann Claytor – Democrat

John “JB” McCuskey – Republican

Jason Pizatella – Democrat

Robin Righter – Democrat

State Treasurer

Larry W. Faircloth – Republican

John D. Perdue – Democrat

Ann Urling – Republican

Commissioner of Agriculture

Walt Helmick – Democrat

Kent Leonhardt – Republican

Attorney General

Patrick Morrisey – Republican

Doug Reynolds – Democrat

Justice of the Supreme Court of Appeals

(Non Partisan)

Brent Benjamin

Wayne King

Darrell V. McGraw Jr.

Beth Walker

William R. “Bill” Wooton

7th Senatorial District

Jordan Ray Bridges – Republican

Gary Johngrass – Republican

Arthur E. Kirkendoll – Democrat

Richard N. Ojeda II – Democrat

House of Delegates

District 20

Michael J. Baisden – Republican

Ronnie L. Blankenship – Democrat

Justin J. Marcum – Democrat

District 22

Jeff Eldridge – Democrat

Scott Gillenwater – Democrat

Eric M. Johnson – Republican

Zack Maynard – Republican

Gary McCallister – Democrat

Michel G. Moffatt – Republican

District 24

Michael D. Johnson – Democrat

Rupie Phillips – Democrat

Ralph Rodighiero – Democrat

Tamus Rowe – Republican

Aaron Stone – Republican

Circuit Judge

(Non Partisan)

Joshua Butcher – Judicial Circuit 7, Division 1

Douglas Witten – Judicial Circuit 7, Division 1

Eric H. O’Briant – Judicial Circuit 7, Division 2

Family Court Judge

(Non Partisan)

Kelly Gilmore Codispoti – Circuit 9, Division 1

Donna Pratt – Circuit 9, Division 2

Christopher Workman – Circuit 9, Division 2

Logan County Board of Education

(Non Partisan)

Darrell Edward Bias – Central

T.J. Blevins – Eastern

Moss R. Burgess – Central

Jeremy Farley – Eastern

Paul Hardesty – Western

George Howes – Western

Roy Lambert – Eastern

Mark Noe – Central

James “Jimmy” Porter Jr. – Eastern

Larry E. Rogers – Western

Stephen Stapleton – Western

Jackson Traylor – Eastern

Ed White – Central

Logan County Magistrate

(Non Partisan)

Steven Gray – Division 1

Joseph L. Mendez – Division 1

Estel E. Murray – Division 1

Dwight A. Williamson – Division 2

Leonard L. Codispoti – Division 3

Logan County Commission

Danny Ellis, Democrat – Eastern District

Sherman Grimmett, Democrat – Eastern District

Joshua Lyall, Democrat – Eastern District

Logan County Clerk

John A. Turner – Democrat

Logan County Prosecuting Attorney

John W. Bennett – Democrat

Logan County Sheriff

Sonya Marie Dingess Porter – Democrat

Logan County Circuit Clerk

Tommy Kirk – Democrat

Mark A. McGrew – Democrat

Tim Tomblin – Democrat

Logan County Assessor

Glen D. “Houn’dog” Adkins – Democrat

Harold R. Porter Jr. – Democrat

Logan County Conservation District Supervisor

(Non Partisan)

George Mathis

A new change for the 2016 election is the election of judges. Judges will not under any political party, but as non partisan. The candidate in each division with the most votes will be elected, regardless of the number of votes received in comparison to other divisions. This election change includes the Supreme Court of Appeals justices, Circuit Court judges, Family Court judges and Magistrates. Those running as non partisan will be elected in the May Primary instead of the November General Election.

The Primary Election is Tuesday, May 10, and the General Election is Tuesday, November 8.

Martha Sparks

Martha Sparks can be reached at 304-752-6950, ext. 1728, or via Twitter at @MarthaSparks

Martha Sparks can be reached at 304-752-6950, ext. 1728, or via Twitter at @MarthaSparks


6:34 pm
Updated: 7:10 pm. |    
LCC honors White, Nunley
comments powered by Disqus