Holmes Safety Association Recognizes Coal Mine Safety

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia State Council of the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association recently recognized more than 27 coal companies and coal-related contractors for safety achievements.

Awards were presented in several categories, including underground operations, surface operations, preparation plants, quarry operations and independent contractors. A special recognition award was created this year to honor Sharon A. Cook, a volunteer who dedicated innumerable hours to the Holmes Association and who passed away in 2014. The 2015 Sharon A. Cook Spirit Award was presented to Cindy Shumiloff, retired, U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration Educational Field Services, Morgantown.

The 2014 Director’s Special Recognition Awards, which honor individuals who have outstanding personal safety records, were presented to Richard Williamson, Aracoma Council; Carl Egnor, Coal River Council; Mark George, Kanawha Valley Council; and William “Bill” Kell, New River Valley Winding Gulf Council. The 2014 Coal Safety Leader Award was awarded to Paul D. Blankenship of the Aracoma Council.

Officials from the West Virginia Office of Miners’ Health, Safety and Training (WVOMHS&T) attended the meeting. Charles Lorensen, chief of staff for Governor Earl Ray Tomblin, represented the governor at Saturday’s awards ceremony.

“The West Virginia Council of the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association is a great organization that has the same goals as the West Virginia Office of Miners’ Health, Safety and Training: to prevent fatalities and injuries and to improve health and safety in all phases of mining,” Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin said. “We appreciate the hard work of our miners and these industry representatives who are committed to safety.”

The association’s 32nd annual meeting was June 12-13 at Glade Springs Resort.

JAHSA is a nonprofit organization started in 1916 to promote health and safety in the mining industry. The association consists of representatives from federal and state governments, mining organizations and labor. It is named for Dr. Joseph A. Holmes, a mining safety pioneer and the first director of the U.S. Bureau of Mines.

The complete list of winners follows:

— 2014 Director’s Special Recognition Awards, selected by each West Virginia District Council:

Richard Williamson – Aracoma Council

Carl Egnor – Coal River Council

Mark Geoge – Kanawha Valley Council

William “Bill” Kell – New River Valley Winding Gulf Council

— 2014 Coal Safety Leader Presentation

Winner: Paul D. Blankenship

— 2015 Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association, WV State Council Special Presentation

Cindy Shumiloff – Sharon A. Cook Spirit Award

Randall Bailey – West Virginia State Council Holmes Recognition

— 2014 West Virginia State Council Holmes Safety Awards:

  • Underground Operations:

1-25 employees: MCCM LLC – Johnnycake No. 1 Mine

26-49 employees: Pocahontas Coal Company – Josephine No. 2 Mine

50-75 employees: Brooks Run Mining Company – Poplar Ridge No. 1

76-100 employees: XMV Inc. – Mine No. 42

101-200 employees: Remington LLC – Winchester Mine

200 + employees: Pocahontas Coal Company – Affinity Mine

  • Surface Operations:

1-10 employees: Princess Polly Anna Coal Company – No. 1 Surface

11-20 employees: Elk Run Coal Company dba Republic Energy – Empire

21-35 employees: Revelation Energy LLC – S7 Surface Mine

36-49 employees: Marfork Coal Company – Workman Surface Mine

50-75 employees: Kentucky Fuel Corporation – WV-3 Surface

75 + employees: Simmons Fork Mining Inc. – Ewing Fork No. 1

  • Preparation Plants:

1-10 employees: Alex Energy Inc. – Marmet Dock

11-20 employees: Phoenix Coal-Mac Mining Inc. – Ragland Loadout

21-35 employees: Eastern Associated Coal LLC – Rock Lick Prep Plant

36-49 employees: Hobet Mining LLC – Beth Station No. 79 PP

50-75 employees: Speed Mining LLC – Wet Branch Prep Plant

75 + employees: Kanawha River Terminals LLC – Ceredo Dock

  • Quarry Operations:

1-10 employees: U. S. Silica Company, Berkeley Plant

11-20 employees: Fairfax Materials Inc., Scherr Quarry

21-35 employees: Martin Marietta Materials Inc. – Burning Springs

36-49 employees: J. F. Allen Company – Aggregates Quarry

50-75 employees: Greer Industries Inc. – Greer Lime Company

75 + employees: Greer Limestone Company – Greer Limestone Mine

  • Independent Contractors:

Hillside Trucking Inc.

Prime Processing Inc.

Cowin & Company Inc.

comments powered by Disqus