Ojeda wins state senate nomination

Martha Sparks - [email protected]


LOGAN, W.Va. — Maj. (Ret.) Richard Ojeda II won the nomination as the Democratic candidate for the West Virginia State Senate, District 7, which serves the counties of Boone, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo and Wayne, Ojeda won over incumbent Art Kirkendoll with a 10 percent margin.

According to Associated Press tallies, with 111 of 111 precincts counted in the counties of Ojeda received 11,093 votes to Kirkendoll’s 9,013 votes.

Ojeda will face off Republication nominee Jordan Bridges in the General Election in November. Bridges, who received 2,787 votes, won over Gary Johngrass with 2,096.

Incumbents Ralph Rodighiero, with 4,422 votes, and Rupie Phillips, with 3,360 votes, will face Republican nominees Aaron Stone and Tamus Rowe for the 24th Delegate District in November.

In the County Commission Race incumbent Danny Ellis got 3,701 votes, putting him in the win over Joshua Lyall with 2,467 votes and Sherman Grimmett with 1,434 votes. Ellis will run unopposed in the General Election.

Incumbents Logan County Clerk John A. Turner, Logan County Prosecuting Attorney

John W. Bennett and Logan County Sheriff Sonya Marie Dingess Porter were unopposed in the Primary Election and will be unopposed in the General Election.

With 3,917 votes, Mark McGrew topped Tim Tomblin and Tommy Kirk in Logan County Circuit Clerk race. McGrew will run unopposed in November.

Glen “Houn-Dog” Adkins, with 4,167 votes, defeated Harold Porter Jr. with 3,636 votes, for Logan County Assessor. Adkins will be unopposed in the General Election.

New to this year, judges and magistrates ran as non partisan and were elected in the Primary Election.

In the Circuit Judge for Judicial Circuit 7, Division 1, Joshua Butcher, with 4,580, narrowly defeated incumbent Doug Witten, with 4,519, by 61 votes. Judge Eric O’Briant ran unopposed Circuit Judge for Judicial Circuit 7, Division 2.

For Family Court Judge, Circuit 9, Division 1, Kelly Gilmore Codispoti was unopposed. In the Circuit 9, Division 2, Christopher Workman, with 4,567 votes, won over Donna Pratt with 3,045 votes.

For Magistrate, Division 1, Joe Mendez, with 4,171 votes, won over incumbent Steven Gray, with 2,479 votes, and Estel Murray with 2,100 votes.

For Magistrate, Division 2, incumbent Dwight Williamson was unopposed as was incumbent Leonard Codispoti for Division 3.

The top three in the Board of Education race was Ed White with 3,610, Paul Hardesty with 2,657 votes and Jeremy Farley with 2,580 votes.

Vote totals are unofficial until the canvas which is set for next week.


Martha Sparks

[email protected]

Martha Sparks is a reporter and can be reached at 304-752-6950, ext. 1728, or via Twitter at @MarthaSparks.

Martha Sparks is a reporter and can be reached at 304-752-6950, ext. 1728, or via Twitter at @MarthaSparks.

comments powered by Disqus