Southern’s Board of Governors elect officers




The Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors has announced its 2015-2016 slate of officers elected during its regular Board meeting.

Thomas A. Heywood, Attorney, Bowles Rice McDavid Graff and Love of Charleston, was elected as Board Chair; Wilma J. Zigmond, retired Superintendent of Logan County Schools, was elected as Vice Chair; and Logan businessman, Glenn T. Yost, was elected as Secretary.

The 12-member Board of Governors is the governing body of Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College. Of the 12 members, nine are citizen members appointed by the Governor, and three are institutional members elected by the constituent group they represent faculty, classified staff, and student body. Members of the Board of Governors work cooperatively with the college president and administration to establish institutional governance and strategic planning.

In addition to Heywood, Zigmond, and Yost, citizen members appointed by the Governor include Linda Q. Akers, Shelly Huffman, Jada Hunter, George Kostas and Terry Sammons. Southern’s institutional members include Russell Saunders (faculty representative), Virginia Stepp (classified staff representative), and a student representative to be named.

Southern provides accessible, affordable, quality education and training at each of its four campuses in Boone, Logan, Mingo and Wyoming counties and its Lincoln County High School site in Hamlin, WV. For further information visit or call 1-866-SWCTC1.

comments powered by Disqus