Last updated: May 07. 2014 12:16PM - 840 Views
Karissa Blackburn kblackburn@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Nominations for the 2014 Miners’ Celebration Awards are due by June 1. This is the 6th annual celebration of the event that is dubbed the ‘Because of You’ Awards.

Award categories are:

The Homer Hickam Collier Award, Engineering Professional, Community Investment, Community Involvement, Safety Professional, Innovation in Mining, Environmental Professional, Management Professional, Champion for Mining, Women In Mining and Educator of the Year.

“The past, present and future of the mining industry depends upon thousands of individuals in its “enterprise ecosystem” who contribute significantly to the production of each ton of coal. It is because of them AND YOU that we celebrate,” says the Miner’s Celebration webpage.

“Nominations for ‘Because of You’ awards are requested for outstanding individuals or groups that have made or are making significant contributions to selected sectors of the mining enterprise ecosystem.”

Nomination forms can be found at the event’s Facebook page, Miners’ Celebration, or digitally on their website, marshall.edu/cegas/events/mcc/bou.html.

The 2014 Miners’ Celebration Conference will be held on October 2, 2014 at the Tamarack in Beckley and is being presented by Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences at Marshall University; the National Coal Heritage Area; the United Mine Workers of America; the West Virginia Coal Association; Strategic Solutions LLC; and the West Virginia Division of Energy, Office of Coalfield Community Development.

For more information, contact Teresa Buckland at 304-696-3568, or email her at buckland@marshall.edu.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Logan Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com