Several Logan County players named to All-Cardinal Conference hoop team

By Paul Adkins - [email protected]

Several Logan County basketball players have been named to the All-Cardinal Conference team.

Chapmanville Regional High School’s Drew Williamson and Kyle Browning were voted to the First Team, along with Logan High School’s David Early and Will Akers.

Williamson, a 6-foot-3 junior guard, led the Tigers in scoring this season at 20.6 points per game. Browning, is the Tigers’ 6-0 junior point guard and averaged 9.6 points a game. The two helped lead Chapmanville (21-4) to the Cardinal Conference championship and a berth in this week’s Class AA state tournament.

Williamson was second in the conference in scoring this season.

Early, a 6-3 freshman point guard, led Logan (14-10) this season in scoring at 19.5 points per game and was fourth in the league in scoring. Akers, a 6-2 senior guard, averaged 10 points a game.

On the second team was Chapmanville’s Hunter Neil, a 6-7 senior center, and Logan’s Dino Noe, a 6-5 junior forward/center.

Chapmanville’s Dylan Smith and Obinna Anochili-Killen were named all-conference honorable mention along with Logan’s Braxton Goff and Jamal Minter.

Mingo Central’s Jeremy Dillon and Drew Hatfield were on the first team. Keshean Rhodes was on the second team and the Miners’ Canaan Fletcher and Aaron Banks was honorable mention.

The All-Cardinal Conference team was picked by the 10 league coaches.


All-Cardinal Conference

Boys’ Basketball Team

First Team

Chapmanville — Drew Williamson, Kyle Browning; Sissonville — Chance Brown; Poca — Luke Frampton; Winfield — Braeden McGrew; Mingo Central — Jeremy Dillon, Drew Hatfield; Logan — David Early, Will Akers; Herbert Hoover — Chase King; Nitro — Deshawn Womack, Seth Brooks; Wayne — Cameron Wallace; Scott — Andrew Day

Second team

Chapmanville — Hunter Neil; Poca — J.P. Phillips; Winfield — Andrew Huff; Mingo Central — Keshean Rhodes; Logan — Dino Noe; Nitro — Austin Woodrum

Honorable mention

Chapmanville — Dylan Smith, Obinna Anochili-Killen; Sissonville — Michael Pinkerton, Brady Jones, Nate Samples, Zack McCutcheon; Poca — Chase Dotson; Winfield — Tate Hancock, Christian Frye; Mingo Central — Canaan Fletcher, Aaron Banks; Logan — Braxton Goff, Jamal Minter; Herbert Hoover —Kody McGraw; Nitro — Joel Sweat; Wayne — Corey Marcum, Devin Hall; Scott — Brandon Elkins, Alan Johnson

By Paul Adkins

[email protected]

Paul Adkins is the Sports Editor of the Logan Banner. He can be reached by email at [email protected] or on Twitter @PAdkinsBanner.

Paul Adkins is the Sports Editor of the Logan Banner. He can be reached by email at [email protected] or on Twitter @PAdkinsBanner.

comments powered by Disqus