DeLancey heads 2A all-state; McCann on first team

PARKERSBURG — For the second time in her career, Ritchie County’s Kenna DeLancey was honored as captain of the Class AA all-state softball first team by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

The junior standout also earned the nod at captain as a freshman in 2013 and is a three-time first-team all-state honoree.

DeLancey (16-1, 0.67 ERA, 133 strikeouts in 84 1/3 innings) was one of five pitchers selected on the first unit. She helped the Rebels to a runner-up finish at the state tournament behind champion Sissonville. She also concluded her junior year hitting .602 with 11 doubles, three triples, 12 homers and 48 RBIs to go along with 34 stolen bases and a 1.205 slugging percentage.

Herbert Hoover senior Allison Rager, last year’s state player of the year, made the first team for the fourth time. In her final year with the Huskies, Rager went 17-3 with a 0.94 ERA and 154 strikeouts. She also hit .426 with 16 doubles and 26 RBIs.

Ritchie County senior Moie Ray (10-2, 1.62 ERA), Westside senior Cassie Blankenship (15-4, 2.10 ERA, 152 strikeouts, nine walks) and Chapmanville freshman Kenzie McCann were the other first-team pitchers. McCann was a workhorse for coach Ronnie Ooten. She fired 179 innings, won 19 games and posted a 1.60 ERA to go along with 253 strikeouts.

The first-team infield featured Roane County senior Cassidy Taylor (.567, 12 doubles, four home runs, 37 RBIs, 11 stolen bases), James Monroe junior Bailee Jackson (.471, 14 RBIs, 15 steals), Wayne senior Kasey Endicott (.448, 30 RBIs), North Marion senior Taylor Wells (.485, four homers, 22 RBIs) as well as Berkeley Springs junior Abby Gillingham (.518, three homers, 25 RBIs).

Grafton’s Mackenzie Cox, who hit .424 with six doubles, four triples, a homer, 11 RBIs and 43 stolen bases, is the Bearcats’ all-time career leader in hits, steals and runs scored. Cox and Herbert Hoover sophomore Madison Bowles (.379, 6 HRs, 38 RBIs) were the first-team catchers.

Petersburg junior Halie Swick, Ritchie County senior Rachel Haddox and Robert C. Byrd senior Kelsey Lantz nabbed the first-team outfield spots. Swick, who drew 13 free passes and had 13 RBIs, hit .594. Haddox had nine doubles, two homers, 12 steals and 27 RBIs to go along with a .475 batting average. Lantz finished at .437 with six doubles, three triples, a home run and 17 RBIs.

The three utility spots on the first team were held down by Sissonville junior Alexee Haynes, Bridgeport senior Allison Winans and Wyoming East senior Bre Pertee, who hit four homers and batted .540. Haynes, to go along with 84 strikeouts as a pitcher, batted .525 with 37 RBIs. She also had 12 doubles, three triples and four home runs. Winans, a first-team all-state player her freshman year at Lincoln, batted .518 and went down on strikes just thrice this spring. She also knocked in 37 runs, stole five bases and had seven doubles, two triples and three home runs.

Like DeLancey, Haynes made her third career appearance on the first-team all-state squad. Ray and Blankenship joined Winans in becoming two-time first-team all-staters.

Wayne High School senior Jacey Parsons was the second-team all-state captain.


Class AA All-State

Softball Team

HUNTINGTON – The 2015 Class AA All-State Softball Team, as voted on by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

First team

P – Kenna DeLancey, Ritchie County, Jr. (Captain)

P – Moie Ray, Ritchie County, Sr.

P – Allison Rager, Herbert Hoover, Sr.

P – Cassie Blankenship, Westside, Sr.

P – Mackenzie McCann, Chapmanville, Fr.

IF – Bailee Jackson, James Monroe, Jr.

IF – Kasey Endicott, Wayne, Sr.

IF – Taylor Wells, North Marion, Sr.

IF – Cassidy Taylor, Roane County, Sr.

IF – Abby Gillingham, Berkeley Springs, Jr.

OF – Rachel Haddox, Ritchie County, Sr.

OF – Kelsey Lantz, Robert C. Byrd, Sr.

OF – Halie Swick, Petersburg, Jr.

Utility – Alexee Haynes, Sissonville, Jr.

Utility – Allison Winans, Bridgeport, Sr.

Utility – Bre Pertee, Wyoming East, Sr.

C – McKenzie Cox, Grafton, Sr.

C – Madison Bowles, Herbert Hoover, So.

Second team

P – Kendal Parkins, Sissonville, Fr.

P – Ally Brown, Scott, Sr.

P – Emily Thompson, Wayne, Sr.

P – Shae Tomasik, Bridgeport, Jr.

IF – Karli Pinkerton, Sissonville, Jr.

IF – Brittney Justice, Summers County, So.

IF – Tara Watts, Wayne, Jr.

IF – Cassidy Hedrick, Petersburg, Jr.

IF – Logan Frame, Braxton County, Sr.

OF – Taylor Legg, Sissonville, Sr.

OF – Sydney Postlewait, East Fairmont, Sr.

OF – Mariah Wilson, Liberty-Harrison, So.

Utility – Hope Bray, Lincoln, So.

Utility – Savana Casto, Ravenswood, Sr.

Utility – Haleigh Compton, PikeView, Sr.

Utility – Jacey Parsons, Wayne, Sr. (Captain)

C – Kaylee Ritter, Liberty-Harrison, Sr.

C – Cassie Weikle, James Monroe, So.

Special Honorable Mention

Savannah Perry, Wayne; Kati Angle, Herbert Hoover; Kaitlyn Linville, Sissonville; Casey Skeens, Poca; Shawna Lane, Herbert Hoover; Becca Sullivan, Ritchie County; Olivia Mace, Roane County; Madison Oney, Braxton County; Bayli Manns, Ravenswood; Lexi Carder, Liberty-Harrison; Hannah Clark, Bridgeport; Rileigh Parsons, Wayne; Brittany Marcavage, Grafton; Emily Ward, Independence; Hannah Trump, Liberty-Raleigh; Whittney Justice, Summers County; Kaitlyn Mills, Wyoming East; Rebecca Ratliff, James Monroe; Lyndsey Hatfield, PikeView; Ashton Lester, Westside; Whitney Robinson, Nicholas County; Shyann Farris, Berkeley Springs; Molly Layne, Bridgeport; Megan Bailey, James Monroe; Christian Price, Westside; Makenah Harrington, Berkeley Springs.

Honorable Mention

Taylor Casto, Sissonville; Zoey Carte, Herbert Hoover; Ashton Mullens, Liberty-Raleigh; Vanessa Tallman, Ritchie County; Allie Maynard, Wayne; Haley Gibson, Roane County; Sarah Boggs, Clay County; Danielle Dennison, Bridgeport; Megan Earnest, Lincoln; Bethany Keener, Grafton; Joplin Kehrer, Bridgeport; Haelli Killeen, Philip Barbour; Josie Payton, Lincoln; Abigail Rock, Liberty-Harrison; Jessi Lilly, Independence; Reagan Johnson, Sissonville; Katy Lilly, Independence; Sam Pauley, Liberty-Raleigh; Rivers Wade, Wyoming East; Laine Shiflet, James Monroe; Audrey Higgins, PikeView; Carly Puett, Westside; Kinly Coleman, Nicholas County.

comments powered by Disqus