Logan trio named to Class AAA all-state

By Paul Adkins - [email protected]

Three members of the Logan High School football team have been named to the Class AAA all-state football team.

Matthew Cox and Jamal Minter were named special honorable mention all-state, while Gavin Ellis was named honorable mention.

Cox rushed for 1,067 yards on 160 carries and scored 10 touchdowns this season for 4-6 Logan. Cox was also a threat as a pass catcher as he reeled in 28 passes for 466 yards and scored six more TDs.

On defense, Cox had 32 total tackles with six pass breakups, two interceptions and a fumble recovery.

Minter had 27 catches for 354 yards this season for the Wildcats. On the defensive side of the ball, Minter had 44 tackles and four fumble recoveries and four interceptions.

Ellis was Logan’s starting center this year.

Capital’s Tyrhee Pratt was the captain of the Class AAA all-state first team. He was the quarterback of the Cougars.


Class AAA All-State

Football Team


QB – Tyrhee Pratt, Capital, Sr. (captain)

WR – Elijah Bell, Wheeling Park, Sr.

WR – Miguel Bays, Capital, Sr.

WR – Christian Johnson, Jefferson, Sr.

RB – Cody Mitchell, Point Pleasant, Sr.

RB – Zayvion Lawson, Greenbrier East, Sr.

RB – Savion Johnson, Wheeling Park, Sr.

OL – Seth Stewart, Point Pleasant, Jr.

OL – Lucas Jacobs, Cabell Midland, Sr.

OL – Austin Curnes, Wheeling Park, Sr.

OL – Riley Locklear, Spring Valley, Jr.

OL – Billy Ross, Huntington High, Jr.

UTIL – Devin Stapleton, Cabell Midland, Sr.

K – Evan Staley, Hampshire, Sr.

DL – Reese Donahue, Cabell Midland, Sr. (captain)

DL – Savion Brown, Capital, Sr.

DL – Josh Goode, Martinsburg, Sr.

DL – Dustin Dominiguez, Wheeling Park, Sr.

LB – Deonte Berry, Jefferson, Sr.

LB – Chris Camp, Cabell Midland, Sr.

LB – Ryan Gatrell, Huntington High, Sr.

LB – Devon Adkins, Capital, Sr.

DB – Austin Skrzyneki, John Marshall, Sr.

DB – Garrett Gilkeson, Parkersburg South, Sr.

DB – Jamez Coles, Wheeling Park, Sr.

DB – Dionne Jackson, Huntington, Sr.

UTIL – Marcus Lofton, Buckhannon-Upshur, Sr.

P – Thomas Cole, Brooke, Sr.


QB – Cross Wilkinson, Wheeling Park, So.

E – Druw Bowen, George Washington, Sr. (captain)

E – Juwan Green, Martinsburg, Sr.

E – Curon Cordon, South Charleston, So.

RB – NuNu Miller, George Washington, Sr.

RB – Chase Gump, John Marshall, Sr.

RB – Jacob Northcraft, Musselman, So.

FB – Caperton Humphrey, Cabell Midland, Sr.

OL – Jordan King, Cabell Midland, So.

OL – Kyle Ayers, Woodrow Wilson, Sr.

OL – Austin Ellis, Capital, Sr.

OL – Gerrit Myers, Musselman, Sr.

OL – Chris Delaney, Greenbrier East, Sr.

K – Cason Kessinger, Huntington High, Jr.

DL – Mateo Arroyo, South Charleston, Jr.

DL – Isaiah Utt, University, Jr.

DL – Nathan Toney, George Washington, Sr.

DL – Isaiah Edwards, Princeton, Sr.

LB – Austin Hughes, Lewis County, Jr.

LB – Clay McDonald, Wheeling Park, Sr. (captain)

LB – Jonah Wellman, Spring Valley, Jr.

LB – Dorian Etheridge, Capital, Jr.

DB – Kody Shearer, Morgantown

DB – Brian Schleicher, Spring Mills, Jr.

DB – Terrance Tate, Huntington, Sr.

UTIL – C.J. Perkins, South Charleston, Sr.

UTIL – Grant Safford, Point Pleasant, Jr.

P – Kentre Grier, South Charleston, Sr.


Tyson Bagent, Martinsburg; Austin Banks, Nitro; Jacob Bennett, Buckhannon-Upshur; Fisher Boeckmann, Martinsburg

Cody Boggs, Parkersburg South; Keenan Bowers, Elkins; Isaac Brown, Martinsburg; Mason Bruebeck, Spring Valley; Matthew Cox, Logan; Bryce Goldsmith, Capital; Nathan Green, Brooke; Dylan Gump, Lewis County; Brady Hatch, Morgantown; Jacob Hendricks, Cabell Midland; Ethan Highlander, Hurricane; Tanner Hill, Points Pleasant; Demetreus Jalepes, Spring Mills; Kaleb Jennings, University; Jordan Jones, Princeton; Colby Johnson, Greenbrier East; Nick Johnson, Parkersburg; Phillip Keller, Jefferson; Chase Lewellyn, Buckhannon-Upshur; Owen Lillard, University; Mikeal Lipscomb, Riverside; Jamal Minter, Logan; Cody McDaniel, Point Pleasant; Blake Miller, Preston; Ryan Mills, Huntington; Isaiah Myers, Wheeling Park; Nick Nardone, Wheeling Park; Silas Nazario, Capital; Jordan Page, Morgantown; Sammy Perry, Cabell Midland; Kevin Phillips, Princeton; Derrek Pitts, South Charleston; Chance Ranson, Ripley; Colten Rollyson, George Washington; J.T. Spurlock, Ripley; Zach Standifur, Princeton; Richie Stanley, Hampshire; George Triplett, Elkins; Latrell Warr, Musselman; Damien White, Lewis County; Logan Wilcox, Spring Valley; Luke Williams, Parkersburg South; Isaac Withrow, Winfield; Maverick Wolfley, Morgantown


Mo Abdelwahed, Princeton; Gage Adams, John Marshall; Charlie Berger, Musselman; Chrisitan Boggs, Buckhannon-Upshur; Ryan Busey, Martinsburg; Austin Brown, Preston; Jonah Campbell, Morgantown; Bailey Carr, Ripley; Adam Clem, Lewis County; Sam Cookman, Hampshire; Ethan Copeland, Winfield; DeAndre Daniels, Martinsburg; Trey Cole, Woodrow Wilson; Gavin Ellis, Logan; Jakob Frye, Spring Valley; Jaret Gear, Elkins; Quisean Gray, Riverside; Parker Grace, Hampshire; Jacob Grigsby, St. Albans; Riley Gunter, Lewis County; Corey Handy, Shady Spring; Chad Harper, Brooke; Garrison Hartwell, Princeton; B.J. Haynes, Ripley; Trey Henry, Martinsburg; Colten Henson, Spring Mills; Josh Herbert, Musselman; Anthony Holland, South Charleston; Billy Honaker, Greenbrier East; Tyler Kisling, Morgantown; James Knox, Capital; Skylar Larcart, Spring Valley; Justin Loughrie, Brooke; Gavin MacCubbin, Washington; Kaleb Mackey, George Washington; T.C. Markle, Musselman; Easton Martin, Parkersburg; Kerry Martin, Capital; Isaac Meyers, Jefferson; Colin Molnar, University; Jake Pedelose, Wheeling Park; Miguel Periera, Spring Mills; Joey Powell, Greenbrier East; Tuler Puppos, Jefferson; Levin Putnam, Parkersburg South; Jake Rager, Martinsburg; Clay Rickman, Princeton; Tre Saunders, Wheeling Park; Jordan Schumaker, Elkins; Bunky Schultz, Point Pleasant; Tamon Scruggs, South Charleston; Gavin Smoot, Hedgesville; Richie Stanley, Hampshire; Frankie Thyson, Jefferson; Noah Toney, Huntington; Joseph Turner, Morgantown; Jacob Vanorsdale, Martinsburg; Justin Ward, Woodrow Wilson; Connor Watts, Hurricane; Jacob Whittington, Princeton; Josh Wolfe, Parkersburg South

By Paul Adkins

[email protected]

(Paul Adkins is the Sports Editor of the Logan Banner. He can be reached at 304-752-6950 ext. 1730, by email at [email protected] or on Twitter @PAdkinsBanner).

(Paul Adkins is the Sports Editor of the Logan Banner. He can be reached at 304-752-6950 ext. 1730, by email at [email protected] or on Twitter @PAdkinsBanner).

comments powered by Disqus