County gridders to play in East-West game

Eleven Logan County athletes are scheduled to take part the second-ever East-West All-Star Football Classic, which is slated to be played on August 1 at Mingo Central’s Buck Harless Stadium.

Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m.

The all-star game was started last year and replaced the annual Hatfield-McCoy Senior Bowl, which ran from 1996-2013 and pitted graduated senior players from southern West Virginia against their counterparts from Kentucky. The game was played at Matewan and at Mingo Central in 2012 and 2013.

Last year, the West All-Stars, led by head coach Gary Mullins of Logan High School, won 35-0 over the East in the inaugural East-West game.

Football players from Logan, Chapmanville and Man were on the same West team last year and had always played together dating back to the old Senior Bowl days.

This year, however, Logan and Chapmanville players will play for the West and the players from Man High School will be on the East squad.

Neil Mullins, Gage Harvey, Caleb Adkins, Mikle Scott Rowe and Bryce Goff of Man have been named to play on the East team.

Mullins, Man’s starting fullback last year, rushed 174 times for 1,002 yards and five scores for the 6-5 playoff-bound Hillbillies. Rowe had 471 yards rushing last year and 10 touchdowns for Man. He scored the winning TD in Man’s thrilling 32-26 season-opening overtime win at Logan last year.

Logan’s Zac Acord, Jeremiah Spears and Ryan Miller will play for the West, alongside Chapmanville Regional High School’s Michael Hall, Austin Kirk and Zac Casto.

Miller, who signed recently with the University of Charleston, was Logan’s record-breaking quarterback last year. He passed for a school-record 2,455 yards and completed 160-of-312 passes for 51.3 percent. Miller also tossed 24 touchdowns.

Acord, Logan’s top wide receiver, caught 72 passes for 1,080 yards and 10 touchdowns and was among the state’s best wideouts.

The West All-Stars will don green and white jerseys, the colors of Marshall University, while the East All-Stars will wear the blue and gold of WVU.

West All-Star players are also coming from Capital, Wayne, Mingo Central, Sissonville, Tug Valley, Mingo Central, Ripley and Scott high schools.

The West will be coached by Joey Fields of Mingo Central.

The East All-Star team is comprised of players from Man, Westside, Wyoming East, Bluefield, Beckley, River View and Mount View.

Larry Cook is the head coach of the East.


West All-Star Roster

Johnathan Burke, Capital

Kahil Chase, Capital

Rashad Cunningham, Capital

Bob Perry, Wayne

Mason Hodge, Wayne

Nate Adkins, Wayne

Grant Ferguson, Wayne

Tucker Watts, Wayne

Colin Kelly, Wayne

Tyler Harrison, Wayne

Zach Holt, Mingo Central

Ethan Jones, Mingo Central

Chance Lester, Mingo Central

Chase Justice, Mingo Central

Clay Ellis, Mingo Central

Houston Hill, Sissonville

Tyler Shaffer, Sissonville

Austin Baisden, Tug Valley

Daulton Spaulding, Tug Valley

Luke Hall, Ripley

Zac Acord, Logan

Jeremiah Spears, Logan

Ryan Miller, Logan

Zac Casto, Chapmanville

Michael Hall, Chapmanville

Austin Kirk, Chapmanville

John McClure, Scott

Bo Jeffrey, Scott

Elijah Price, Scott

Coaches: Joey Fields, Josh Sammons, Terry Jo Harrison, Jake Staton and Garth Simpkins


East All-Star Roster

Justin Kenneda, Westside

Bryce Robinson, Westside

Thomas Aliff, Westside

Tristan Jones, Wyoming East

Aaron Griffith, Wyoming East

Nik Walker, Wyoming East

Jacob Dulcie, Wyoming East

Hunter Simmons, Wyoming East

Steven Cook, Wyoming East

Jordan Masterson, Bluefield

Malik Craighead, Bluefield

Chris Blankenship, Beckley

Ron Blanks Jr., Beckley

Shane McDonald, Beckley

Caleb Adkins, Man

Gage Harvey, Man

Neil Mullins, Man

Mikle Scott Rowe, Man

Bryce Goff, Man

Jordan Wilson, River View

Marlin Marrs, Mt. View

Timothy Noulin, Mt. View

Andrew Hazzard, Mt. View

Chris Burks, Mt. View

Coaches: Larry Cook, JoBuck Cook, Caleb Brown, Jerad Cook

comments powered by Disqus